7 comments on “Ralph McQuarrie R.I.P.

  1. He was an inspiration for countless amoung us, sad to see his passing. I know, personally, his art was what got me to stand in line ( my first ‘line’ ) for a film. It lived up to the vistas he imagined. Thanks for the very elegant post.

  2. God, I wish Lucas had been able to use him as the concept artist on the prequels, but the fucker waited too long 😉

    • I don’t know. After seeing him in the documentay Empire Of Dreams he had the shakes really bad. So I don’t even know if he was still able to draw. The one thing missing from the prequels was the lack of any really iconic designs of any kind. Plus there was never really a ship that was in each movie. They always came up with something new so they could make a new toy out of it. That was Lucas’s main drive behind those movies.

  3. Understandable, it looks like a video game, but on the other hand, you don’t like anything : D

Leave a Reply

